TODAY….Let’s Stop the Hatred

The last few days I have done some serious soul searching.  I’ve found myself looking deep within myself.  Some of the feelings I found I didn’t like.

After the ambush and slaying of the Dallas Police Officers and the DART officer, I found myself blaming “Black Lives Matter”, Jessie Jackson, Al Sharpton and President Barack Obama.  I was really mad at these people that I perceived to be the instigators of this cowardly act.  That kind of thinking is what is wrong with our country.  I was doing the same thing that I detest.  I was trying to find someone to blame…..someone to turn my anger toward.  The kind of sick thinking I was having is like people judging all Christians by the standard set by Rev. Phelps.  You remember him?  He’s the “pastor” that protests military funerals.  His actions are not Christ like.

A couple of things happened over the weekend that brought me back to the real world.  The blood of Jesus covers all sin.  The sins of all who will call upon His name.  Not one place in the bible does it say He will cover the sins of certain skin color.  It says ALL.

Friday afternoon I was at the church office when I received notification of an accident on Hwy 69 just a mile or so from the church.  I go with the Alba FD occasionally in hopes of comforting family members who may show up at the scene of an incident.  This one was bad….very bad.  A car and an 18-wheeler had hit head-on.  I saw firemen working frantically to extract two young men from the mangle wreck.  My perspective changed at that instant.  Here were two young African-American kids trapped in a vehicle that was nothing more than a crumpled pile of steel.  In fact, the only way you could tell the make of the car was when the troopers finally found a license plate.

What struck me, what changed me that day was seeing firemen, police officers, paramedics, helicopter personnel of all races doing whatever they could to save these young men.  The rescue crews didn’t see these two young men as black.  What they saw was two of their fellow mankind in desperate need of help.  The young man in the car didn’t see his rescuers as a bunch of white guys.  He saw them as his fellow man trying to save his life. They were able to extract him and place him on a medivac helicopter.  Although critically injured, it appears (on Sunday) he was out of danger. Sadly, the second young man in the car was deceased.  These same rescue crews were careful, very careful in removing his body.  They knew there was no life left but they were determined to treat him with dignity, respect, care and love.

We see the news media feeding on racial division.  They don’t show you scenes like this….scenes that show people helping people.  They don’t show things like black, white, Hispanic and others comforting one another after tragic events.  They don’t show a black police officer shielding a white mother away from the threat.  No, they prefer to focus on a shooter’s skin color.  They did it when the man (white skin color) went into an African-American church and start shooting.  They did it just this last week showing a man (dark skin color) shooting and killing police officers.  What they should be reporting is that a couple of deranged human beings made the decision to shoot and kill other human beings.

Hatred and evil is prevalent around us.  It’s the results of living in a sinful, fallen world.  It’s not about color….it’s about evil.

As I soul searched through these incidents I finally asked myself, “Where does it all end?” “How do we fix this racial division that is perceived among us?”

It starts with me.  It starts with you.  What if, we wake up today and realize that we can make a difference.  We can chose to get rid of our prejudice thinking, whatever it might be.  We can show love to everyone.  Yes, it starts with you and I.  If we can show love to one person and that person shows love to one person, eventually, all this us against them mentality will go away.

We are ALL God’s creation.  We are all His children.  We should treat each other in that manner.

We can overcome evil and hatred.  It’s that little thing called LOVE.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

There is found in Verse 8 a great promise from Our Lord.  It’s the promise that we can overcome hatred.  It’s my hope and I pray it’s yours.

1 Corinthians 13:8 Love never fails.

Today is the first day of the rest of our lives.  Let’s begin now.  It begins with me.  I hope you will come too.

May GOD Bless..

Byron

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

